Atlantic Gaelic Academy

This morning I had my first, three hour long tutorial with the Atlantic Gaelic Academy.  I chose to start with the beginner’s course, because, despite having already done some study, I just don’t feel confident speaking Gaelic.   I’m glad I did.  I had known my pronunciation (i.e. accent/blas) wasn’t good, because I could hear the difference between what I was hearing, and what I was saying.

I’m so glad I decided to take the course.  Although my translation skills are good at this level, my accent was indeed poor, and our tutor spent considerable time ensuring we could produce the correct sounds.  I had picked up some rather bad habits from my earlier studies, so going over the sounds, and unlearning and learning properly those I had been enunciating incorrectly was a pleasure.   I think knowing that I wasn’t producing the rights sounds to be understood when speaking contributed to my lack of confidence in having conversations.  I think this course with the Atlantic Gaelic Academy will help build my confidence.

I look forward to my next tutorial, especially since I will have time to do the homework from now on.

2 Comments

Filed under Gàidhlig, Scotland

2 responses to “Atlantic Gaelic Academy

  1. I look forward to hearing more about the course as you do it. I myself have done An Cursa Inntrigidh with Sabhal Mor Ostaig (in Scotland) over the last few years and I’m interested to see how the two correspondence courses compare. Our tutorials are only 1 hour long, though. I suppose you can cover a lot more ground in three hours, but I imagine it must be tiring!

    (Just as well ours aren’t that long, though. Trying to find three hours that fits in with the time difference would be a nightmare. I take it you’re somewhere in the Americas?)

    • I’ve done the first two parts of An Cùrsa Inntrigidh with Sabhal Mòr Ostaig but they had no suitable tutorial times this semester. I found there was not enough emphasis on speaking and sometimes the whole hour was taken up just getting the students to read the dialogue, and answering questions on the explanation. I had found my own study buddy and we did extra practice but I still didn’t feel confident with actual speech.

      My experiences with Sabhal Mòr have been logged at this blog on occasion. As it says in the About Me section, I live in the UK.

Leave a Reply

