Halifax Bank PLC – Steer Clear

For those that don’t know, I have been on a Debt Management Plan (“DMP“) since 2007.  I will probably remain on that plan for many years to come.  Today, I received a letter from the Halifax informing me they wish to reinstate the “normal” interest rate on my debt to them.  This will set me back quite a few years, as it will mean I am roughly paying back around £1 a month on a several thousand pound debt.   In other words, I will probably be dead before it is paid off in full.

This letter, this kind of stress, I just don’t fecking need it in my life right now.

From the time a friend recommended I switch to Halifax bank, they have caused me nothing but problems.  Switching my current account, and credit card to them took months, they screwed it up, and I had to pay default fees for some direct debits that failed.  Then when I started the DMP, Halifax was the only creditor who insisted on continuing to charge interest, only reducing it on one of the two credit cards they issued (to me during the feck up account changeover).   It is their refusal to stop interest altogether which has set back my repayment times.  If it wasn’t for that, I would probably have paid off all my creditors by now, and be nearing the end of my DMP.  Today, I really just can’t see an end to it, especially after their ridiculous assertion by Halifax that I am no longer in financial difficulty.

Really?  Really?  I couldn’t afford to go home for my grandmother’s funeral because I didn’t have the money to cover the cost of the airfare, as well as the unpaid leave I would have needed to take from work (unfortunately, my grandmother died just as I has taken annual leave).  A DMP means you cannot have any savings, so any major expenses are impossible to cover.   I may face a similar familial situation in the future.   I have to wonder if I would not be better off following Denise Drysdale’s example and packing my car in order to live out of it, leaving work, and other heartless corporations, and society, altogether.  I am just so tired of the shit I get from Halifax.  If it wasn’t for them, I probably would be able to handle this whole DMP process better.

I wish I had quit my job back in 2007, and filed for bankruptcy.  I’m sure it would have been far less stressful, and, in turn, had a less detrimental affect on my state of well being.

Leave a comment

Filed under Health

Leave a Reply

