Keeping Silent

Because the feed for my posts here go automatically go through to my Facebook timeline, I am restricted from elucidating as to why this blog has been so silent over the last week, and a bit.   Suffice it to say: “Shit happened!  Shit is still happening.“.

Needless to say, the week I took off for my birthday was a wash-out: utter and complete wash-out.   Not only were there concerns for family in Australia, but the beautician with whom I had booked two days of treatments (also) ended up in hospital; subsequently, my appointments were cancelled.  I just hope she recovers in time for her wedding next week.

With everything going on, I ended up with a case of insomnia that left me awake for almost 72 hours solid.  I’m still trying to get back into a regular sleeping pattern now that I’m back at work, but I’m not really getting more than a few hours, and I’m really feeling it.   I take sleeping pills to help me nod off, then need coffee to help wake me up so I can drive to work, do my job, and drive home again.

I’m pretty much over the idea of having a birthday now.  Last year I said to myself:  “It’s OK, there is always next year“, but this year was worse than last year, which was worse than the year before, etc., etc.  Whether or not I make plans apparently makes no difference; it ends up being a day I’d rather forget.  This year, I wanted to forget the whole week.  I wish I hadn’t booked any time off work.

From 2015 onwards, I shall celebrate the four fire festivals, acknowledge the two solstices, and ignore all else.

Wishing my readers, and their families all the happiness absent from this post.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Health

Leave a Reply

