Another Sorry Tale

Sunday and Monday were painful days.   I had gout, period pain and, just to add to my misery, Crohns.  I could only take on pain medication, however, so I opted for the anti-inflammatory/painkiller for my gout, as I want it to go away as soon as possible.   This left me with just the cramps from my period, and from Crohns which was enough to prevent me sleeping.  Needless to say, I did not go to work on Monday.   I returned to work today, and though my foot is sore, it is not really painful, and being day 3 of my cycle, the cramps have reduced to twinges.   I have had to take medication for my Crohns though in order to get to work.   I am still tired (fatigue being a symptom of Crohns), but I am not sitting at home going stir crazy.

In order to facilitate rest, I also turned off my phone, but woke today to discover my mother is back in hospital, having been rushed in by ambulance over the Easter break, but returned home because there was no-one available to do tests, or to treat her.   Mother is now at the main city hospital where they are conducting tests, and she will probably end up having her surgery there, too.   I do hope they can relieve her discomfort.  Having come through cancer last year, the treatments for that, and her arthritis have left her in a bad way.     I know she really wanted to go to her first grand-daughter’s Christening, but was just far too sick to travel, enduring similar symptoms to my Crohns, in addition to arthritis, and swelling due to the removal of her glands during the cancer surgeries.   Sometimes the side effects of treatments leave you in a rather pitiful state.

I’m hoping my Mother recovers soon, and my own health improves.   I hate writing these sorry tales.

On a brighter note, it seems my little niece was quite the star during her Christening.   My uncle kindly took a video of some of the proceedings, so I could see part of it, since I was unable to attend; so thoughtful.   I have never seen a picture, or a video where my little niece isn’t smiling, which is such a joy to see, and they are such a beautiful family.  But my, how time flies and how quickly little babies grow.    I’m wondering if my brother, and his wife are wishing time would slow down so they can savour their little, baby girl just that tiny bit more.   Little Flower is just so adorable.

Wishing my readers the best of weeks, as we lazily meander into May.

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Health

2 responses to “Another Sorry Tale

  1. Sympathies from someone who is experiencing arthritis for themselves, without all the other things you mention here, appear to me to be a wholey inadequate response, but it is the only one available to me at this time so it is the one I offer.

  2. Thanks Neil. I mostly rant here so that it’s “out” rather than “in”, if you know what I mean. I don’t expect commentary or responses.

    I’m sorry you are dealing with arthritis – it’s the not knowing how long symptoms will persist aspect that must be difficult, aside from the pain that is. I hope you find relief soon, and that whatever treatment is offered, doesn’t affect anything else.

Leave a Reply

