Slumbering Sunday

One of the students with whom I did extra practice, via Skype, for An Cùrsa Inntrigidh dropped out, which means my Sundays are now free.  My only wish was that he had informed me sooner of his desire to do so, so I could have joined the Gàidhlig reading group currently running at the City Lit up in London.   I’m hoping the Gàidhlig reading group is a success and continues over the summer, so I can join in and get some much-needed practice before starting the next part of An Cùrsa Inntrigidh in September.

For my first free Sunday, I am taking it easy.   I rose later, did a little cleaning, had a nap, took a photo of a new acquisition courtesy of ebay, and thought to update this blog before I finish my Gàidhlig homework for this week’s tutorial.   In other words, it’s a rather sedate Sunday, and I’m taking it easy.

Because of my course, I’ve not been doing much reading, but when cleaning, I’ve been indulging in a bit of light, audio, fiction in the form of M. C. Beaton’s Hamish Macbeth series.  The books are short, light-hearted, crime stories set in a fictional town in Sutherland, the highlands of Scotland.  A bit of distraction from the mundane tasks that must be done around the home.  I have so many other books I want to read, but these will all have to wait until the summer when I won’t have to spend so much time on coursework.   I’m rather looking forward to it.  It the meantime, the Hamish Macbeth audiobooks are my indulgence.

I’m still searching for another job, but I am determined not to leave my current position until the absolutely perfect alternative presents itself.  As miserable as I am, and as much as it’s depressing every time I start the commute to work, I am not keen to jump for the sake of jumping.

A certain bank, about whom I have written in the past, have started yet another telephone campaign, but I have them on the hop, as I have sent notices to them via recorded mail, and taken photographs of every breach of those notices for evidentiary purposes as I intend to report them to the Financial Ombudsman.  The behaviour of said bank is inexcusable, and I’m tired of going through this with them every year.

To end on a high note:  someone at work gave me a box of Guylian chocolates this week, and I’m saving them as a treat.  As much as I would love to indulge myself on this slumbering Sunday, I’m going to abstain and wait for something truly special.

Wishing my readers a delightful week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gàidhlig, Home, Miscellaneous, Photography

Leave a Reply

