Once I Saw a Wild Otter

If you scroll down to the penultimate photograph on this blog post, to the left you will see a lady sitting on a bench at Gearrannan Blackhouse Village, which I was once reliably informed was called “sunset seat”.   I visited Gearrannan Blackhouse Village many years ago – the photograph is more recent taking by another traveller.

While staying at Gearrannan Blackhouse Village, I found myself sitting on the sunset seat for a while one afternoon, mulling over our adventures on Skye, and Harris earlier in the week.  As the midges became more prolific in their attacks, my fellow travellers went indoors to the saftey of a peat fire, but I remained and was rewarded.   Rewarded, because I saw an otter move on the beach below and slip into the water.  As it was during the time of the gloaming, there was enough light to see what it was, and where it was going.  Such a treat!

For that experience alone, I will always value that sunset seat, Gearrannan Blackhouse Village, and the Hebrides.

Leave a comment

Filed under Scotland

Leave a Reply

