Downer

I’m sitting here watching a film to help lift my spirits after a dour weekend, where my body decided to rebel against me.   The pain was excruciating, and hard to suppress.   Yet another lost weekend; I should keep score.

There have been changes at work that I feel are disastrous, but the alternative for me is redundancy, so I have to accept them.  It’s a great system for most of the staff, but for those of us who have to implement it, it’s disorganised, micro-managed, and utterly flawed.   I’ve work with similar systems in the past, all of which were superior to this one.  One of the reasons I took this job in the first instance was because of the individuality of the role, rather than pooling of resources.  Alas, every organisation seems to be following this streamlining process in order to save costs, but the loss of autonomy leads to the demoralising of staff and, often, in my opinion, lowers productivity.

As mentioned in my previous post, I have come to realise that my speciality will be obsolete in the near future, as those entering the industry are tech savvy, and I have spent a lot of time recently re-evaluating my career options.  I did look at returning to university to study IT but, as I am already struggling to repay debts, adding to them with £21,000+ for a degree would mean spending the remainder of my working life making repayments; a foolhardy course of action given I need to save towards retirement.   After exploring various options, I came to see the benefit of studying my preferred language, Scottish Gaelic, and endeavouring to forge another career with it.  Studying Gaelic would also provide the impetus to move across the border.  The other advantages are that it will be cheaper to study – the overall cost is such that I can, for the most part, pay up front at least in the beginning – classes are such that they can be done remotely, similar to the Open University, and it will open doors to other aspects of the culture I enjoy: music, poetry, and folklore, which offer inroads into several career paths.

Of course, the stress of thinking about my immediate future – work and financial – has had an effect on my health, and the last few months have been a real struggle.   Now, I’ve decided on a course of action, I’m hoping things will settle.   Mind you, the path of study is paved with stresses, too, but at least I have a goal in mind and that should see me through.

3 Comments

Filed under Eulogy, Gàidhlig, Miscellaneous, Scotland

3 responses to “Downer

  1. Your work situation sounds sooo familiar. I went through similar several times before I retired. You have my sympathy, but if you save for your retirement you can have a good time then and forget the penny-pinchers. Good luck with the studies. I studied Irish Gaelic for a short while many years ago and enjoyed it, though I found the pronunciation difficult.

  2. you are nominated for blogger award
    by http://valeriudgbarbu.wordpress.com/awards/
    congratulations

Leave a Reply

