Banana Bread Success

So, I had some left over bananas and rather than throw them out, I decided to see if I could find a recipe that included spelt flour, as spelt is much kinder to my system.    I found one which only had ingredients I already possessed courtesy of PattyCake at Group Recipes.

It seemed simple Banana Breadenough but, as can be seen in the picture, it came out looking a little overcooked.   I let it cool, then put it in tin foil while I went to sleep.  I already had breakfast lined up, so waited until snack time to taste it.

The banana bread wasn’t sweet, but it was moist and the crust had softened, something that worried me when I first took it out of the oven.  If I make it again, I will mash the bananas more, add a bit more honey, as I didn’t use sugar, and will include some cinnamon in the dry mix.

I’m quite proud of myself, as it’s my sister, not I who is known as the baker in the family.   I’m also becoming quite enamoured with spelt flour.   So, any recipe suggestions using spelt are warmly welcome.

Leave a comment

Filed under Health, Home

Leave a Reply

