One Sad Saturday Night

I woke up late today, probably recoverying from a exhausting week.   I got up ready to go for a long walk, but then “It’s a Wonderful Life” was on television, and as it wasn’t on during the festive period or, perhaps I missed it being in hospital.  So, I watched “It’s a Wonderful Life” and then went out to do a grocery shop as I had limited healthy food in the house.

I returned after dark to find that my little house was the only one with a light on.  I live in a small, friendly lane, consisting on one young couple, a single woman, a middle-aged couple, an elderly couple and then two families.  Every single one of them was out at 8 o’clock on a Saturday night.   Me, I have just unloaded my groceries, have eaten breakfast (yes, working evenings puts my meal times out), and am sitting here checking to see if I won a competition, logging my food intake into a data sheet, syncing my steps from my Fitbit pedometer, and updating this blog.   How sad can I be?  Everyone, everyone but me, is out on a Saturday night and I am home on my aging laptop.

It’s too late to make any plans for tonight, so I will start the housework, bake my weekly loaf, and make a start on my meals for the week.   I don’t even have a Scandi-Nordic programme to look forward to on BBC Three.  I doubt I will have an early night, but, unlike my neighbours, I won’t be out and about.

One, sad Saturday night it is.

1 Comment

Filed under Friends

One response to “One Sad Saturday Night

  1. I’ve been there. Sitting watching tv in my case trying to convince myself it was nice to have the evening to myself. It’s lonely.
    I wish you good fortune winds of change bringing life and fun in spring x

Leave a Reply

