Gratitude

Today, I am grateful I have a job.
Today, I am grateful I have a roof over my head, because I have a job.
Today, I am grateful I have food to eat, because I have a job.
Today, I am grateful I have clothes to wear, because I have a job.
Today, I am grateful to have some money in purse, because I have a job.
Today, I am grateful I have a job.

2013 seems to be the year of businesses going bust: Jessops, HMV and Blockbusters are all in the news for calling in administrators. That means thousands of people are now out of a job in really tough economic times; so tough it’s hard to find work, regardless of whether you have no skills, are semi-skilled, university educated, or experienced.   I feel for those who worked for these companies who now have to find other employment, and I feel, too for their families.  2013 has started badly for them. Given these giants of retail are going under, I find myself wondering about the long-term health of those independent retailers who compete with the online giants.   My sincere hope is that those independents succeed in forging ahead.

So, today, I am grateful I still have a job.

Leave a comment

Filed under Miscellaneous

Leave a Reply

