Early Morning Errands

Was was speaking to a work colleague yesterday, exchanging details of our day when she gave me a strange look.   I had just mentioned that I didn’t get home until around 2.00 a.m. because I had to run some errands, namely get petrol, go to the video rental store and the bank, and I needed buy moisturiser and get some groceries in.

How could you do all that, at that time of the morning?“, she queried.

I guess it really sounds odd, but basically it went like this:

  1. I got petrol from a 24 hour service station.  It’s the cheapest for miles, and, thankfully, is on route and open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week;
  2. I returned some Blu-Ray discs by putting them in the “drop box” at Blockbuster;
  3. I then went to the (second-nearest to home) Tesco Superstore which is a 24 hour, Monday to Saturday store, to pick up moisturiser, and some groceries;
  4. I realised, having left Tesco, that I needed cash for an appointment the next day, so I quickly turned around, found my bank’s ATM machine on the high street; and, finally,
  5. I went home.

Isn’t it amazing what can be done in the early hours of the morning these days?

I may not live in the big smoke, but that doesn’t mean I don’t have the conveniences of a city near to me and, given I work odd hours, I utilise them.   No traffic, no crowds.  Had I attempted this trip during the day, it might have taken a few hours, not just the one it actually took at night, because I was able to park right outside the bank and the shops, and there were no queues.  I guess I just don’t think of it as an odd time to be out and about, running errands.

Leave a comment

Filed under Miscellaneous

Leave a Reply

