I’m so ashamed.

I just could not wait you see.

I had the weekend free: no overtime, no prior engagements, so I was planning on going to see “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” at the cinema, since I had already diligently read the book, but I’m a bit pedantic, and I wanted to watch the Swedish version first.    Oh dear!   When I got to Blockbuster, all three films of the Millennium trilogy were available at just 99p each.   What could I do?   Was I really so patient as to be able to wait two months to find out what happened next in the audio books prior to watching the DVDs?   Of course not!    So, I rented all three, and added “Trollhunter” to the mix on a whim.   

I headed home, popped in the first DVD and proceeded to watch all three of the Millennium films in quick succession.   I don’t really regret doing it, except that in viewing all three, in one sitting I severely disrupted my sleeping pattern.   Luckily for me, I had all four films for two (2) days, so put off watching Trollhunter until Sunday evening, which was perfect as there was nowt on TV.

I must say I was very impressed with the film version of the first book, “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo“, the only one of the trilogy books I’ve read.   Throughout all three films, Noomi Rapace allows Lisbeth Salander to inhabit her, or so it seems, and for me it was as though Salander had simply stepped off the page and on to the screen.   The chemistry between Noomi Rapace and Michael Nyqvist (as Mikael Blomkvist) works, and works well, but I’m not sure if that’s because the writers/directors of the Swedish films altered their relationship to something far more platonic than is indicated in the books*.  I already know how things end between them (damn internet research!)   Yes, there are redactions to the storylines, plots and characters, but they were reasonable from my point of view.  

I admit I had to watch “The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest” more than once; I so thoroughly enjoyed the untangling of the stories, and even the final scene.    I just know I will be visiting ebay, in order to purchase the DVDs of the Swedish films; I know I should like to view them again, but after I have read the books and soaked up the intricacies of the plots.

Trollhunter (Trolljegeren) has received some good reviews of late; it’s a film about mythological creatures and it’s European, so naturally I wanted to see it.    What can I say?  It was not what I was expecting having seen the trailers.   It was damn funny though.   A lot of the humour being provided by Thomas, the student interviewer/journalist, played by Glenn Erland Tosterud; however I cannot be sure this was intentional, even with the inclusion of fart jokes.

As much as I enjoyed Trollhunter, it could have been so much more.    I certainly felt no tension; it wasn’t frightening (and I’m easily scared); and the end was less than satisfying.    To be honest, the whole movie made me think: “awwww“.   You know?   When you see an ugly little animal, but you still feel it’s somehow adorable.   Trollhunter may have been a genuine attempt at a monster movie, but it just came across as “cute“.

Trollhunter follows three students from a university attempting to track down a supposedly rogue bear hunter, who is accused of randomly hunting the animals.   Despite anyone else’s lack of ability to do so, the students track down the hunter and proceed to follow him across the country, even being so foolish as to follow him onto a blasting site set in a remote forest,  in the dead of night.    Cue the “Blair Witch Project” pastiche, prior to the entry of the CGI creature(s).

The best thing I can say about Trollhunter is that it was fun, but it’s not down for a second viewing.

So, that was my entertainment for the weekend.    

_______________________________________________________

*Not having read the second or third book, though, my comments only really relate to the first novel and film, “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo“.

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

