Happy Birthday Grandma!

Unlike a lot of people my age, I am in the fortunate position of having a grandparent in my life; today is her birthday.   I won’t embarrass her publicly by stating her age, but “Spitfire” is going strong so I wish many more years to come.  From her and my father, I inherited one of the greatest gifts – a love of reading.  Unlike me, Spitfire is unafraid to speak her mind.   We have lovely chats on the phone, when I can catch her.   Spitfire has a hectic social life even though she lives in assisted accommodation.

I love my Grandma, more than I could ever express to her or, indeed, anyone.   Spitfire is one of my best friends and I was lucky to develop a wonderful relationship with her in my later years.   I owe her a lot, not just my love and affection, and I miss her, terribly, even though we talk often.

So, here’s to you Grandma.  I hope you are having a fabulous birthday with many more to come (remember you get a telegram when you hit that special milestone).

With love from London.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family

Leave a Reply

