Riddle Solved?

So the distant cousin I mentioned in my earlier post has found information relating to the missing Ancestor, John Henry Oxford.  Turns out he was a native Australian, who worked as a seaman/cook.   He was witness to a murder while serving on a ship docked in the West Indies and was later called upon to testify in a trial conducted in Australia; however this left him, and his family exposed, so he took up citizenship of the West Indies (or let everyone believe he was a citizen of that country) and on all records following this event, he gave false details.   This is the reason it has been so hard to find trace of him or work out an accurate history for him.

Now my cousin has spent time doing the research and I look forward to updating my tree once all the paperwork is through.    Especially since this story if far removed from what was handed down through my family as our ancestry, i.e. that there is a native American antecedent and given on one of the documents it lists John Henry Oxford as residing in North Carolina, it may have proved to be the link.   Alas, it was a false trail and now we know from what all these stories stem.

I look forward to learning more, especially since I have never felt particularly tied to Australia.    It is indeed intriguing to learn that somewhere back in time, I have an Aboriginal relative.

4 Comments

Filed under Family

4 responses to “Riddle Solved?

  1. Hi my great grandfather was the John Oxford on the marriage certificate you posted earlier. I am also keen to trace any aboriginal heritage in my family line. My grandfather (Frank) and my Mother are in your photos. How can I see your work on the family tree?
    Thanks
    G

  2. I’m afraid I am not the one doing the research on this side of the family. Can I contact you via your email address to put in touch with the person who is?

  3. Yes no problem. How do I give you my address without having it posted for all to see?

    G

  4. Don’t worry about that; it appears on the email asking me to approve the comment. I will pass your email address onto the person currently researching the Oxford family.

Leave a Reply

