Seamus Heaney: New Selected Poems

I have finally finished reading Seamus Heaney’s “New Selected Poems: 1966-1987“, which I received from a fellow blogger, Kirstyes and our particular copy will soon be travelling on to a new reader.  At the moment, it is only on offer to friends, but if there are no takers (within the British Isles) I will open it up to recipients a little farther away.

I will update my blog when I have posted it.  Before then, I have to admit my disappointment with this book.  I like poetry, I really do.  Like art, I don’t know much about it, but I know what I like.    I found most of the poems unappealing apart from the “Sweeney” material and three others: “North“, “Song” and “Sloe Gin“.    Now, given the length of the book (240 pages) and the body of work it contains I find it surprising that I could not connect more to what I was reading; rather I was left feeling inadequate and confused.  Why couldn’t I understand what Mr Heaney was attempting to convey to me, the reader?  I was left feeling that Mr Heaney writes for a more sophisticated audience than myself.*  Still, we each have our own tastes and “New Selected Poems: 1966-1987” just didn’t do it for me.   

So on to the next reader, who will relish it more – I hope.

* Or, perhaps I just don’t have the intellect or understanding required to read this kind of work?

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Reviews

2 responses to “Seamus Heaney: New Selected Poems

  1. akismet-adf3f0fdcb0337fad0226801b75408ee

    Hi

    So sorry you didn’t find more that you liked in the book.
    The ones I listed in my letter were the main ones I liked and got, like I said those more related to nature and childhood, ones that evoked my senses. Like you there were some I just didn’t get so no you’re not the only one.

    What is your favourite poem/poet?

    Take care

    Kirsty

  2. I don’t really have a favourite poet, I read several. Maya Angelou, George Mackay Brown, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Kevin V. Moore, Shakespeare, and Khalil Gibran are poets whose work I re-read from time to time (just off the top of my head). Favourite poem? Hmm … now you’re asking. Can I get back to you on that one?

Leave a Reply

