World Book Night 2011

Today, March 5, is World Book Day and this evening 1,000,000 books were given away from a shortlist. There was only one book I wanted to receive and read from that list, Seamus Heaney’s “New Selected Poems 1966 – 1987“. As there is no chance of my picking up a copy or giving copies away, I thought I would post about the one book I would recommend to others; the one book I truly loved and, as you can see above, it is Paul Gallico’s “Flowers for Mrs Harris“. It’s a very short book about a very nice, cleaning lady who has a dream of owning a couture dress from Paris. It takes me about an hour to read and I’ve read it several times. I find it uplifting and I often read it when I am bogged down in some awfully dry book, be it a huge work of fiction or a non-fiction tome on a topic of interest but which has been written badly. It’s my indulgent book, my little box of chocolates when all else is bland.

If this book ever made the list of those being given away free on another World Book Night, I would volunteer to distribute it and I might also be tempted to purchase my own copies to make sure everyone had the chance to enjoy it. It’s probably not for everyone though, males especially, but it is short and a great starter book for those who have not read since school.

If you’ve not read it, why not give it a try?

I wonder what one book would you really like more people to enjoy? Is this your favourite book of all time?

3 Comments

Filed under Books, Reviews

3 responses to “World Book Night 2011

  1. Jeanette Winterson’s The Passion. I don’t know that it’s my favourite book of all time, but it is definitley one of them. An amazing fusion of magic realism and fairytale set in Venice and France during the Napoleonic Wars. I’m giving away copies of Life of Pi, another great book. If you haven’t read it and would like a copy, come past my blog, I still have a few copies to give away.

  2. Thank you Siobhan. That’s very kind of you. I have to confess that “Life of Pi” is on my Bookmooch list, which I use to acquire books for my grandmother, who is also a keen reader but very hard to choose for. “Life of Pi” has been recommended so many times, I thought it a good choice for her; however, if I am lucky enough to receive one of your remaining copies, I will read it first and then pass it to her. Please do let me know if you are tracking your books and I will update it for you.

    Thanks again and congratulations, too, on being a giver.

  3. Pingback: World Book Night – Update | Letters from a Briton

Leave a Reply

