Better Days

The last two days have been ruddy awful. Yesterday, I took my car to the mechanic, only to find out it was his home address and the houses have no numbers, so I spent an hour trying to find it and he wasn’t answering his mobile.

Turns out he wasn’t there. Being a rural location, the buses only ran every hour, as did the trains, but they did not link up, so a five hour round trip for what would be less than 30 minutes in the car. I was exhausted (only one hour’s sleep), sick and fed up by the time I got home. I telephoned work and took a day’s leave.

Today, I was happily reading a book I mooched on the train. I jumped in a taxi and noted the driver had been reading a book. I asked him about it and then told him what I was reading and got it out to show him (he couldn’t quite hear me). We then chatted about book swapping websites and I wrote the names of two down for him. What I didn’t realise was that I had not returned my book to my handbag, so the cabbie ended up with a free copy of “Eats, Shoots and Leaves” by Lynn Truss. I am so annoyed with myself.

I am so annoyed with everything right now.

The only positive thing to come out of all this is that my car has been fixed. This will be my cheapest ever MOT (roadworthy), service and repair I’ve had on a car since I arrived in the UK.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Miscellaneous

Leave a Reply

