Quiet Time

Sometimes crowds can be overwhelming, especially when visiting places were tourists are likely to be, like castles. I visited the British Museum earlier this year and the number of people and children was immense and it was difficult to move; to breathe. Spending a quiet moment drinking in the history behind the artefacts on display was impossible.

Visiting Leeds Castle this weekend was not as bad. It was half-term, and there were children, but it was winter, cold and the forecast was for rain, so the visitor count was lower than it might have been. This meant that there were quiet places to catch your breath and just enjoy the environs and feel at peace.

Yes, I had my camera and I did take photographs, but rather than being rushed to capture what I was feeling, the lack of other visitors meant I also had a lot of time to wrap myself up in the natural, and man-made beauty of the various perspectives.

I think this photograph captured the feeling of the day best.

Leave a comment

Filed under Photography

Leave a Reply

