Out in Sympathy

I was ill last Friday with (what I thought was) an acute colitis episode. Saturday I will still unwell and Saturday night I started having burning pains in my abdomen. Combined with period pain, I was not in a good way. I took pain killers and I took colitis medication, but nothing helped. It was hard to sleep and eating meant the burning pain worsened. From my second to last rib and down, everything felt like it was on fire.

Monday I will still unwell and when I rang my doctor, the only appointment was for Thursday. In the interim, he told me to take a different pain med. Luckily for me, I have several on hand for various ailments. It worked and Tuesday I was back at work.

All of this was bad enough, until I telephoned my sister in Oz to find she had severe stomach cramps after a prescription of Tamiflu. The doctor wouldn’t confirm if she has succumbed to swine flu, but who can say. I knew she had been ill on Friday, when she ran out of breath whilst sneezing and she sounded awful and was too tired to talk, which is very unusual. I do worry, though, as she went back to work even though she still had pains. I just don’t think she’s given herself enough time to recover.

I wish I could be there to take care of her when she’s ill, as she is so far away from the rest of the family. I just hope one of them is checking in with her regularly.

1 Comment

Filed under Health

One response to “Out in Sympathy

  1. 74pappy

    Thanks for the lovely thoughts, I wish I could be there to take care of you when you are sick. Mum was up on the weekend and bro and wife to be were here on Tuesday and they will be back on Sat night. People have been keeping an eye on me.

Leave a Reply

