Technology comes Home

Sorry that’s it’s been a while since I posted, but with a new laptop there is a lot of setting-up to do and this has taken up a lot of time. I have also been ill, which has made it difficult to do anything at all.

So, I managed to get a mobile phone company to take me on their monthly contracts, allowing me to get home internet access. The speed is rather slow, but at least I can now do things from home. The main benefit is being able to join Facebook and can now keep up to date with all my family members, who had been searching for me there, not knowing my internet access was from work, which had banned all social networking sites. So, I have been spending some time at Facebook catching up with folks I know (and love). I am not so keen on the applications, games and so on, but at least I will know when birthdays, and other major events pop up.

The other major benefit is I now have access to Skype. I’ve had two video calls with my father, but it’s become obvious I need to buy a handset as the in-built microphone is rather pathetic and my father being deaf makes things difficult. I am also awaiting details from my mother on her account, so we can chat more regularly. I am thinking about subscribing to Skype in order to call all my family in Australia cheaply, but I want to see if the handset makes a difference, or if the mobile broadband speed is the real issue.

I was also very lucky in that my firm have a scheme with Microsoft which means I got a discount on the whole Office package. An added benefit is that Word now interacts with WordPress and Blogger, so I can type my blogs in Word, offline, and then upload them to the sites, fully formed. This is my first attempt, so I’m hoping it works. If so, I might actually be able to write more often.

The hardest part of setting-up my laptop was transferring my music files from my iPod and making the laptop my primary library. It ended up copying every single song twice! So far, I have only managed to delete duplicates down to the letter G in artist names. Not only that I had to go and find all my podcasts again and re-subscribe and download the episodes. Hours and hours it took and I’m sure I’ve outdone my surfing limit for the month on that alone.

Well, that’s what I’ve been up to this last week or so. I know it doesn’t seem much, but I was unwell for four days, and I’m sure no-one wants to hear about that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Miscellaneous

Leave a Reply

