Busy, busy

Yes, I was very busy yesterday.  So much so, I didn’t update this blog.   

I didn’t get to sleep until around 8 a.m. and my alarm went off at 11 a.m., in order that I could make it to my Gaelic tutorial on time.   I was so weary, I don’t remember much of getting ready, but I do know it was cold and there was no snow.  

I made it to my tutorial on time and M. was very good in that we did a lot of aural and oral practice, of which I was in need.   I also need to learn how to pronounce the “gh” sound at the beginning of a word, to, as the number 2 escapes my tongue.    Its not easy this language; no, its not.     We finished up early, as I was so tired and I am grateful to M. for letting me go.

I arrived back at work around 4.30 p.m., far too early to start my shift, so I sat in a vacant office and started to read Paul McDermott’s book, “The Forgetting of Wisdom”.   His article, “On Insomnia” had me laughing out loud, as I was able to relate to the degenerative behaviour of his sheep as he counted them in a bid to fall asleep, though I can’t have been as desperate as Paul, as I never had them return as ghosts.  Paul did manage to capture the delicate balance between genius and madness to which one succumbs when deprived of sleep for days, or weeks on end.

I am looking forward to reading the rest of the book, as I could do with a dose of humour in between the Gaelic lessons and other non-fiction books I am currently reading.

I also spent around 3½ hours last night formatting a book ready for publication.   Its a poetry anthology that was supposed to be released last Christmas, but missed its deadline, owing to health issues with all three editors.   Fate!   I managed to get 144 pages done and sent off to the other editors for perusal, but there is still more to do.  It would be nice to have the anthology published and ready for release at Bealltainn.  

So, at the end of a long day, did I get much sleep?   Hardly!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Gàidhlig, Miscellaneous, Poetry, Reviews

Leave a Reply

