‘Tis the Season to be Jolly …

Or is it?   I received word from my family in Australia that all medications have been withdrawn for my paternal grandmother, other than morphine for pain management. 

This amazingly strong woman, who is now 93, has been steadily getting worse since the death of one of her sons.   I know she’s been anxious and troubled, and I know, too, that I’ve not done much to help her in her time of sorrow.   I may be far away, but I could try harder to write to her and keep her spirits up.   I would telephone, as I do with my maternal grandmother, but her hearing limits her ability to talk on the telephone.  I wish there was a way to let her know how much she means to me.

I would dearly love to spend time with her this Christmas, but I can’t.   I can only pass messages through my sister.

I will miss my grandmother very much.   Its true, I’ve not seen much of her these past few years, but it hasn’t stopped me thinking of her nor diminished my love for her.   I certainly don’t want her to leave this world, just yet.  Certainly, not at this time of year – a time of happiness.

So, with this post, I send her all my love and continue to hope she stays with us a little longer.

2 Comments

Filed under Family

2 responses to “‘Tis the Season to be Jolly …

  1. 74pappy

    Grandma’s innings is 93

Leave a Reply

