Inconvenience

I’m not a happy bunny.  I have been three days without running water now, no bathroom facilities (bearing in mind I am suffering colitis) and the contractor has made a hash job of the repairs.    He somehow even managed to break a perfectly functioning toilet suite.

In the meantime, my dishes are stacking up and I have to leave my back door unlocked every morning, only to find nothing is being done.   I can’t blame my landlady as she had a hospital procedure this week, which involved taking rather violatile medication beforehand and a stint at the hands of the NHS.

What is concerning me is that the work that has been done will have to be ripped out – it appalling – and restarted, so I am not sure how much longer it will be before I have my bathroom back.  Its already been a month.   At the moment, I try to get out of the house whenever the builder is in, but that’s difficult.  You see, I work nights which means I often don’t get to bed until around 6 a.m., but the builder starts at 8 a.m. and finished around 5 p.m. which is when I have to start getting ready for work.

Its all well and good if I get to sleep on time, but even when I do sleep, its disturbed.  I know this because I wake up feeling more tired than when I went to bed.  The builder spends quite a bit of his time on his mobile phone and plays his music loudly.  Now, we all know the scientific studies that say noise will disturb your sleep whether you realise it or not.   No-one seems to appreciate this though.   In the meantime, I still have to get to work.

What is really annoying me is my landlady’s insistence that I have too much sleep anyways.   I’m sorry, but one is supposed to try to have eight (8) hours a day.   I’m pretty sure she’s in bed by 10 p.m. and up at 7.30, which, by my reckoning, is more than me.   And I wonder how she would feel about leaving her front or back door open all night just so people could get in of a morning?

Sorry to vent, but I was ill today and not impressed with having to traipse across a courtyard, put my shoulder to a door and climb a set of steps to get to a bathroom every five minutes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Miscellaneous

Leave a Reply

