New Year’s Eve 2007/2008

London Fireworks New Years Eve 2007/2008

As I had to work on New Year’s Eve, I figured I might as well take my camera and see if I could get any photographs of the fireworks display over the southbank.   I was working until 11.30 p.m. so it was rather late when I went to set up my camera, only to find a colleague had brought in two cameras – one film, one digital – had set up his tripods and had turned out the lights.  

I was short on time and I always have difficulty figuring out the angles on my tripod, so I was left with little time to test ISO and apperture settings.  In the end, I changed the basic mode on the camera to “night” and pre-set the zoom lens.  My colleague had a fancy remote switch, but I actually had to touch my camera to take the pictures.   I thought that would be my biggest problem of the night.

Unbeknownst to either of us, there was a south-westerly blowing, and once the fireworks started, the residual smoke bellowed towards us, obscuring any view we might have had.  Eventually, we couldn’t even see to the other side of the river and we both admitted defeat and started packing up.

Another colleague had brough his family in to view the show from relative comfort and I was stunned to see that the eldest son had managed to capture an amazing photograph on his mobile phone.   I was so jealous.

Tonight, I came into work and starting downloading the pictures and was suprised to find one good photograph from the meagre few I took.   So, I that’s what you see here.

1 Comment

Filed under Photography

One response to “New Year’s Eve 2007/2008

  1. Pingback: New Year’s Eve 2007/2008 « Tom Steel

Leave a Reply

